The Salon De Virtuosi, “the best kept secret in New York”, is an organization dedicated to the discovery and support of talented young musicians.

For a really special musical experience, Charlotte White’s Salon De Virtuosi is not to be missed! The Salon is the crossroads of the diplomatic community in Manhattan and of young artists from around the world.

Praised by such great musicians as Gary Graffman and Yehudi Menuhin, The Salon was founded in 1989 by the concert pianist Charlotte White, a former student of the legendary Josef Lhevinne and the noted Richard Singer. Now entering its 26th season, The Salon has discovered and supported an outstanding array of superb young artists through generous grants and unforgettable concerts at some of New York’s most exclusive and beautiful venues, including the consulates of the many countries which are represented here in New York.

Many of those young artists have now achieved international fame. Among the artists presented in earlier years are Gil Shaham, Helen Huang, The St. Lawrence String Quartet, Lang Lang, Wu Man, Ilya Itin (winner of the LEEDS Competition), the Sejong Soloists, Philip Quint (Grammy Nominee), Wendy Warner (Avery Fisher Career Grant Winner), Alex Fiterstein (Avery Fisher Career Grant Winner) and Terrence Wilson (Avery Fisher Career Grant Winner).

In addition, from its very beginnings the Salon has endeavored to introduce ethnic instruments and music to which Western audiences have had limited exposure. Most concerts feature two or three uniquely gifted artists and often include noted folk artists from the featured country as well. Given Charlotte’s international background, the Salon has presented the most promising emerging talents from different lands and cultures who perform the great classic and contemporary masterpieces.

Our concerts are usually followed by festive buffet supper where the unique ambiance of the mansions, and social exchange between artists and guests, create an unusually stimulating experience.  In addition to the music, you’ll meet some of the most interesting people in New York there.

The Salon is one of New York’s most generous supporters of young musical talent. At the end of each year, Scholarship and Career grants of $5000 each are generally awarded, often to as many as five deserving artists. Since the inauguration of the Fellowship Program in 1995 the Salon will have given a total of $500,000 towards career and scholarship grants!

Our audiences are composed of a sophisticated group of music lovers, who give just the kind of support that every artist needs: encouragement, a sympathetic and discerning ear, plus enthusiasm for the task of finding the future greats! They are people who appreciate the importance of supporting and nurturing the talent that will keep our great musical heritage  alive.

Membership in the Salon starts at $500/person a year and we have recently introduced a Junior League membership (for those 35 and younger) at $350/person. All contributions and membership fees are tax deductible to the full extent of the Law, since the Salon is a 501(c) (3) not-for-profit organization.

"I congratulate you on the success of your Salon De Virtuosi and the good use to which you put your success"

- Yehudi Menuhin

"I sinserely hope that this unique organization will continue to grow and thrive for many years to come" - Gary Graffman

About the Salon

Charlotte White, Founder in Memoriam


Goldie Blanksteen

Barbara Brookes

Gail Daitch

Mara Kashper

Kenneth Kato

Daniel Kim

Helen Ng

Hiroko Onoyama

Helen Roosevelt

Monique Schoen-Warshaw

Dr. Ralph N. Wharton

Erika White


Mr. & Mrs. Lewis Bryden

Margalit Meidar

Rabbi David Posner*

Dr. Stanley Taub

* In Memoriam



Mr. & Mrs. Noah Berley

Mrs. D. Blanksteen

Barbara Brookes

Mr. & Mrs. Lewis Bryden

Cofra Foundation

Gail Daitch

The Arthur W. Diamond Foundation

The Japanese Chamber of Commerce and Industry of New York, Inc.

Mr. & Mrs. Arik Kashper

Daniel Kim

Margalit Meidar

H. Onoyama & K. Sugawara

The Prior Family Foundation

The Puffin Foundation

Helen Roosevelt

Monique Schoen Warshaw

Dr. Ralph N. Wharton

Erika White

Hedy Zankel


Donald Allison & Sumiko Ito

Claudia Aronow

The Elias A. Cohen Foundation

Barbara Cohn

Rosalind Devon

Vera Stern*

Mr. & Mrs. Philip Wharton

Naida Wharton

* In Memoriam


Cynthia Ader

Fumiko Allinder

Mr. & Mrs. Alvin Bernstone

Dr. Joan Brigham

Mr. & Mrs. Francis Carling

Michelle Classe

Mr. & Mrs. J. Colvin

Mr. & Mrs. Douglas Eaton

Sandra Ekberg

Dr. & Mrs. Lajos Elkan

Dr. Susan Frame

Mr. & Mrs. Gennady Grevnin

Seth Grosshandler

Toshiko Hall

Shinko Hanaoka

Mr. & Mrs. Thomas Hecht

Phoebe Jensen

Jay & Michiko Jones

Erica Jong

Natalie Katz

Claudia Oberweger & Yitzchak Frank

Brigitte Roepke

Dr. Robert Ritch & Riyoichi Saito

Andrey Shvetsov

Dr. & Mrs. Samuel Snyder

Dr. Stanley Taub


Emanuel Ax

Robert Blocker, Dean of Yale University School of Music

Seymour Bernstein

Vladimir Feltsman

Gary Graffman

Hyo Kang

Yoheved Kaplinsky

The Juilliard String Quartet

Itzhak Perlman

Robert Sherman

Former Advisors in Perpetua

Van Cliburn

Dorothy DeLay

Kirt Masur

Patrice Munsel

Aldo Parisot

Janos Starker

Rosalyn Tureck


America-Israel Cultural Foundation

Ambassador Miroslav Rames of the Czech Republic

Ambassador Anne-Claire Legendre of France

Ambassador Antonia Romero of Great Britain

Ambassador Istvan Pasztor of Hungary

Ambassador & Mrs. Sandeep Chakravorty of India

Ambassador Dani Dayan of Israel

Ambassador Kanji Yamanouchi of Japan

Ambassador Maciej Golubiewski of Poland


Yelena Kurdina

Erika White, President

Lora Tchekoratova, Artistic Director