2021-22 SEASON




Wednesday October 14, 2020 at 7:30 PM EST

Streamed Live From Merkin Hall at Kaufman Music Center

The Salon de Virtuosi is thrilled to present our

2020 Gala Awards Concert

honoring the winners of the Salon de Virtuosi 2020 Career Grants:

Albert Cano Smit, Piano

Winner of the Prior Family Foundation Grant

Rémi Geniet, Piano

Winner of the Helen Roosevelt Grant

Moné Hattori, Violin

Winner of the JCCI Grant

Alexander Hersh, Cello

Winner of the David & Goldie Blanksteen Foundation Grant

Sooah Jeon, Flute

Winner of the Miriam & Arthur Diamond Charitable Trust Grant

Hina and Fiona Khuong-Huu, Violin

Winners of the Kashper Family Foundation Grant

Nathan Meltzer, Violin

Winner of the Monique Schoen Warshaw Grant

Zac Zinger, Composer and multi-instrumentalist

Winner of the Fumi Onoyama Grant

The concert will be streamed live from Merkin Concert Hall and hosted by Robert Sherman, the award winning radio broadcaster, music critic and host of WQXR’s Young Artists Showcase

Due to current restrictions, the concert will be performed without an audience.

The concert will be streamed commencing at 7:30 PM on October 14 on the

The Violin Channel’s Facebook page


The concert may also be viewed on the Salon’s YouTube Channel at 7:30 PM on October 14 HERE

There is no charge for this event and all are welcome to join us online to celebrate our winning artists!


Click HERE for the full Program and to learn more about the artists

Hina and Fiona Khuong-Huu, violin with Rohan De Silva, piano

Pablo Sarasate (1844-1908)  -  Zapatadeo from Spanish Dances, op. 23

(Fiona Khuong-Huu and Rohan de Silva)

Fritz Kreisler (1875-1962)  -  Tambourin Chinoise, op. 3

(Hina Khuong-Huu and Rohan de Silva)

Moritz Moszkowski (1854-1925)  -  Suite for two violin and piano Op. 71 - Molto vivace

(Hina and Fiona Khuong-Huu and Rohan de Silva)

Sooah Jeon, flute with Duk Kyu Kim, piano

François Borne (1840-1920)  -  Fantaisie brillante sur 'Carmen'

Albert Cano Smit, piano


Nathan Meltzer, violin with Rohan de Silva, piano

Maurice Ravel (1875-1937)  -  Tzigane


Alexander Hersh, cello with Victor Santiago Asuncion, piano

Claude Debussy (1862-1918)  -  Sonata for Cello and Piano

I. Prologue: Lent, sostenuto e molto risoluto

II. Sérénade: Modérément animé

III. Finale: Animé, léger et nerveux

Mone Hattori, violin with Eriko Kawachi, piano

Henryk Wieniawski (1835-1880)  -  Legende

Remi Geniet, piano


Zac Zinger, shakuhachi with the Resonance Collective, string quartet

Zac Zinger  -  “Haiku in Variation” New Original Composition